2009 CMU Programming Contest

March 31st, 2009

This past Saturday (March 28th), Oberlin Computer Science’s Team O(Bees) competed at the 2009 Carnegie Melon Invitational Programming Contest.  Michael Brooks and Katie Kuksenok competed against almost 30 other teams from schools around the region.  They successfully solved 7 out of the 8 problems and took second place in both the “doubles division” as well as 2nd in the overall contest.


OCWiC workshop

March 4th, 2009

On February 27-28, the 3rd Ohio Celebration of Women in Computing (OCWiC – pronounced “Oh-quick”) was held in the Mohican Resort and Conference Center.  Thanks to a generous donation from Susanne Hambrusch (from Purdue University) the department was able to send 2 students to attend.  As you can see below, Emma Anderson ’09 and Elara Willett ’10 had a great time.

Emma and Elara at OCWiC 2009

Emma and Elara at OCWiC 2009

OCWiC brings together women majoring in computer science and related fields together with women teaching or working in computing careers.  It is an opportunity for the community to get to know each other, meet possible mentors, and encourage young women in computer science to complete their studies and explore possible career paths by meeting women leaders from business, industry, and academia.

For more information see the OCWiC Website.

2009 Denison Programming Contest

March 2nd, 2009

On February 28, two intrepid teams of students competed in the 20th annual Denison University Programming Contest.  This year there were 16 teams from 9 schools competing in a 4-hour contest.

The O(bees)


The “O(bees)” (Joe Kramer-Miller, Katie Kuksenok, Michael Brooks, and Michael Stevenson) took first place, solving 4 out of the 6 problems in just over 90 minutes.  The coaches were watching the scoreboard as other teams kept creeping closer and closer.  In the last 40 minutes, it looked like one of the Denison teams was going to pass them, but they held onto the lead until the very end.


Foo of Oberlin

Our other team “Foo of Oberlin” consisted of Thomas Ramfjord, Brendan Chambers, Zack Levine, and Jules Wellinghoff.  They also solved 4 problems and took third overall.

Congratulations to all of our students on an excellent job!

If you are interested getting involved in programming contests, get in touch with either Professor Donaldson or Kuperman (the coaches) or check out the Competitive Programming Exco!

See more photos in the gallery: 2009 Denison Programming Contest